FMCSA Training Provider Registry is Now Operational

Click here to download a copy of this safety alert.

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s Entry-Level Driver Training Rule is effective as of February 7, 2022.  Under that rule, an entry-level driver applicant must meet certain training requirements before applying to:

  • Obtain a Class A or Class B CDL for the first time;
  • Upgrade an existing Class B CDL to a Class A CDL; or
  • Obtain a hazardous materials (H) endorsement for the first time.

The ELDT regulations are not retroactive; individuals who were initially issued a CDL or an H endorsement prior to February 7, 2022 are not required to complete training for the respective CDL or endorsement, even if the CDL or endorsement has lapsed.

The training must be conducted by an entity that has certified it meets the FMCSA’s training standards and is listed on the agency’s Training Provider Registry.  The agency has announced that the Training Provider Registry is now fully operational and searchable.  All entities that provide entry-level driver training must now access the Training Provider Registry to submit driver training certification records within two business days of a driver’s training completion.

In addition, the FMCSA has amended its regulatory guidance to explain that its current statutory authorities and regulations do not prohibit third party testers from administering the commercial driver’s license knowledge tests for all classes and endorsements. State Drivers Licensing Agencies may accept the results of knowledge tests administered by third party testers in accordance with existing knowledge test standards and requirements.

If you have any questions please contact GAWDA Counsel Rick Schweitzer:
Office (202) 223-3040
Mobile (703) 946-2548

filed under: